Board of directors

Jean Stéphenne, permanent representative of Innosté SA: Chairman and Independent Director

Jean Stéphenne was, until April 2012, member of the Corporate Executive Team of GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) and Chairman and President of GSK Biologicals in Wavre, Belgium, which he built into a world leader in vaccines. He currently serves as Chairman of BESIX, Vesalius Biocapital, Nanocyl, Bepharbel and BioWin, and as board member of BNP Paribas Fortis, Groupe Bruxelles Lambert (GBL), OncoDNA, Theravectys and Ronveaux. Previously, Mr. Stéphenne served as board member of Auguria Residential Real Estate Fund, which is currently in liquidation, VBO/FEB and Welbio.

Eduardo Bravo: CEO and Managing Director (executive)

Mr. Eduardo Bravo has more than twenty-five years experience in the biopharmaceutical industry. He has been CEO of TiGenix since May 2011. Prior to joining TiGenix in 2005, he held several senior management positions at Sanofi-Aventis, including Vice President for Latin America, a division with 2000 employees and sales of more than EUR 1 billion. At Sanofi-Aventis he also held senior positions in marketing and sales for Europe and he was general manager for Belgium. Prior to his tenure at Sanofi-Aventis, Mr. Bravo spent seven years at SmithKline Beecham in commercial positions both nationally and internationally. Mr. Bravo holds a degree in Business Administration and an MBA (INSEAD). He is Vice-President of EBE (European Biopharmaceutical Enterprises) and member of the Executive Committee of ARM (Alliance for Regenerative Medicine).

Willy Duron: Independent Director

Mr. Willy Duron has been an independent board member of TiGenix since February 2007. He was the Company’s Chairman from September 2007 to September 2012. He started his career at ABB Verzekeringen in 1970, becoming a member of the executive committee in 1984. Mr. Duron holds a MSc degree in mathematics from the University of Gent and a MSc degree in actuarial sciences from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. He currently is a member of the board of directors of Ravago NV, Vanbreda Risk & Benefits NV, Universitaire Ziekenhuizen Leuven, KU Leuven, Agfa-Gevaert NV and Van Lanschot Bankiers NV. In addition, he serves as chairman of the board of Windvision BV. Previously, Mr. Duron was CEO of KBC Groep NV and KBC Bankverzekeringsholding NV, Chairman of the board of Argosz, Secura, ADD and W&K, as well as member of the board of directors of KBC Asset Management NV, Synes NV, CSOB, Warta, FBD, Amonis and Universitair Centrum St Jozef Kortenberg.

Russell Greig, permanent representative of Greig Biotechnology Global Consulting, Inc.: Independent Director

Dr. Russell Greig worked at GlaxoSmithKline for three decades, most recently as President of SR One, GSK's Corporate Venture Group. Prior to joining SR One, he served as President of GSK's Pharmaceuticals International from 2003 to 2008 as well as on the GSK Corporate Executive Team. Dr. Greig currently serves as Chairman of AM Pharma and Mint Solutions in the Netherlands, and as a board member of Ablynx in Belgium, Onxeo Pharma (previously BioAlliance Pharma) in France, and Oryzon in Spain. He also serves as a venture partner at Kurma Life Sciences (Paris, France). Dr. Russell Greig used to be Chairman of Isconova AB in Sweden (acquired by Novavax, USA), Novagali in France (acquired by Santen, Japan), and Syntaxin in the UK (acquired by Ipsen, France).

June Almenoff: Independent Director´╗┐

June S. Almenoff MD, PhD, is an accomplished pharmaceutical executive with close to 20 years of industry experience. She has extensive expertise in clinical development, translational medicine and business development. Dr. Almenoff recently served as President, Principal Executive Officer and Chief Medical Officer of Furiex Pharmaceuticals, a publicly held biopharma company. Prior to joining Furiex, Dr. Almenoff was at GlaxoSmithKline (GSK), where she held positions of increasing responsibility. During her 12 years at GSK, she was a Vice President in the R&D organization, chaired a PhRMA-FDA working group and also worked in the area of scientific licensing. Dr. Almenoff received her B.A. cum laude from Smith College and graduated with AOA honors from the M.D.-Ph.D. program at the Icahn (Mt. Sinai) School of Medicine. She completed post-graduate medical training at Stanford University Medical Center (Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases) and served on the faculty of Duke University School of Medicine. She is an adjunct Professor at Duke and a Fellow of the American College of Physicians.

Add this page to your PDF You have added 0 page(s) to your PDF. Download your PDF